Pop Quiz

Q: Two NL shortstops have an OPS over 800. Who are they?

A: Clint Barmes (1019) and Cesar Izturis (817).

Would you have guessed before the season that Barmes and Izturis would be the most deserving NL SS All-Stars? In fact, all things considered I believe Izturis is the best SS in the league, hot start or not. The difference in road OPS (to correct for their home park effects) between Barmes (849) and Izturis (832) is not significant, and Izturis is plainly a better defensive SS. He’s young (25), he’s shown steady improvement at the plate (last 3 years OPS 597, 711, 816), and he’s got a great defensive rep. I’ll predict that Nomar Garciaparra will never again be as good as Cesar Izturis, and I don’t really think that’s going out on a limb.

1 Comment

Filed under Brave-O-Matic 1.0

One response to “Pop Quiz

  1. M Norman Carnathan

    I agree. Garciaparra and Izturis are heading in opposite directions, and both rather quickly. But what vexes me, to turn this back to the Braves, is if I would have been asked a couple of years ago who the best NL SS would be today, I would have included Furcal on a very short list.

    He’s no where close to that, and I fear he may never be. This is not to say that Furcal isn’t good, he’s just pretending not to be right now. And in a contract year…

Leave a comment